
 

 
  
 
   
 

 
 

               

     INSTRUCTIONS: (Incomplete applications may be returned.) 

 

Applicant’s Folder # 
      
 

Social Security # 
      

Date of Birth 
Month       Day       Year 
                              

    Male 
    Female 

 

Last Name  
      
 

First Name 
      

Middle Name 
      

Maiden Name 
      

Address 
      
 

City 
      

State 
   

Zip Code 
      

Evening Phone 
 
(    )      

Daytime Phone 
 
(      )       

Email Address 
 
      
 

 
 
 

   Background Information: 

 
For any "Yes" response, attach a written explanation on 8 1/2" x 11" paper. Be sure to include the date of the violation.  

DO NOT explain on this application form. *If you have reported a "Yes" response on a previous application, check PR (previously              

reported) instead of "Yes" on this application, if no further conviction(s) has occurred. 

a. Yes  No  PR  Have you ever been convicted of a felony? 

b. Yes  No  PR  Have you ever been convicted of a crime other than parking or speeding violations?  
(NOTE:  Include all deferred judgments) 

c. Yes  No   Do you currently have any criminal charges pending against you? 

d. Yes  No  PR  Have you ever had a founded report of abuse made against you? 

e. Yes  No  PR  Have you ever had an application for an educational license denied or had disciplinary  
action of any type (including letter of reprimand, warning, suspension, revocation, or  
voluntary surrender) taken against an educational certificate, license or authorization  
in Iowa, any other state, or any other country? 

 
   
 

 

 

State of Iowa 

Board of Educational Examiners 

Licensure 
Grimes State Office Building 

400 E. 14th St. 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147 

 
 

Last updated 7/16 

 

 

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL 
OF ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE 
 

Note:  You may not renew your license earlier 

than one year from its expiration date. 

Enclose check or 
money order 

 
DO NOT 
SEND 
CASH 

 

1.   Attach official/original college/university transcripts of credit or AEA transcripts to verify that the renewal requirements have 
been met.   
2.  If you have an Iowa address or are serving in an Iowa school, attach a copy of a certificate verifying completion of the new 
child and dependent adult abuse reporter training. 
3.  The application packet must include a completed application, official transcripts, $86 application and background check 
fees, child and dependent adult abuse reporter certification, and applicable late fees. 
4.  Send all materials and check or money order (made payable to Board of Educational Examiners) to the address above. 
5.  Please allow four weeks for processing. 
6.  If the applicant holds the new evaluator endorsement on the administrator license, the evaluator approval renewal course 
must be completed for renewal of the administrative license. 
 

Name changes require a photocopy of official legal documentation.  All fees are NONREFUNDABLE. Incomplete 

applications will be voided after 45 days. 

 
 
 
         

         

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

 



  Citizenship: 

  

  If you answered “No,” check if you are: 
 

 a qualified alien (as defined in 8 U.S.C.A. § 1641).  If so, please provide appropriate documentation. 

 an alien who is paroled into the United States under 8 U.S.C.A. § 1182(d)(5) for less than one year.  
If so, please provide appropriate documentation. 

   

 an alien who is paroled into the United States under 8 U.S.C.A. § 1182(d)(5) for less than one year.  
If so, please provide appropriate documentation. 
 

 other – Please provide a detailed explanation on a separate 8 ½ x 11 sheet of paper. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are you a United States citizen? Yes  No  

 

Statement of Permission and Fraud:   
 
I hereby give permission for the Board of Educational Examiners to conduct both an Iowa criminal history record check with 
the Division of Criminal Investigation and a national check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  Any information 
maintained by the DCI or FBI may be released as allowed by law. 
 
An application will be considered fraudulent, and may be denied, if it contains any false representation or omission of 
material fact, or if false records are submitted in support of the application. 
 
I certify under penalty of perjury and pursuant to the laws of the state of Iowa that the preceding information is true and 
correct. 
 
______________________________________________ _____________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant      Date 

 



 

 

Iowa Board of Educational Examiners 

Guide for Renewing Your Administrator License 
 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
  

1. The application and fee may be filed as early as 12 months prior to the expiration date.  Checks will be cashed the day received. 
 

2. If a license is renewed before the expiration date, the credits presented for its renewal are acceptable if earned during the term of 
the license. 
 

3. If a license is not renewed before the date of expiration, the credits presented must have been completed within the five-year 
period immediately preceding the date of application for renewal. 
 

4. Continuing education units (C.E.U.s) are not accepted for renewal. 
 

5. The only course work acceptable for renewal from a non-Iowa institution is course work that has been completed for 
undergraduate or graduate credit. Please be aware that some institutions may indicate that the course work is graduate level 
course work but graduate credit is not provided.   Professional development units are provided instead.  Professional development 
units and staff development credits completed at a non-Iowa institution are not acceptable. 
 

6. All fees are NONREFUNDABLE. 
 

7. All applicants renewing a license must submit documentation of completion of the child and dependent adult abuse training 
approved by the state abuse education review panel.   
 

8. LATE RENEWAL FEE.  An additional fee of $25 per calendar month, not to exceed $150, shall be imposed if a renewal 
application is submitted after the date of expiration. The board will waive the late fee if the applicant is not currently practicing as 
an administrator in Iowa. 
 

 

 

DESCRIPTIONS 
 

Administrator License— 
1. Four credits every five years to renew the administrative license. 
2. An applicant renewing a professional administrator’s or area education agency administrator’s license must 

submit documentation of completion of the evaluator training required in Iowa Code section 284.10. 
3. Fill out the application form and include official transcripts of courses completed. 
4. If the applicant holds the new evaluator endorsement on the administrator license, the evaluator approval 

renewal course must be completed for renewal of the administrative license. 
 

Acceptable renewal credits include any combination of the following list, but have to be taken within the 

term of the license: 
1.   One unit may be earned for each semester hour of credit completed, which leads toward the completion of a 

planned specialist’s or doctor’s degree program. 
2.  One unit may be earned for each semester hour of credit completed from a regionally accredited institution, 

which may not lead to a degree but which adds greater depth/breadth  
to present administrative endorsements held. 

3.  One unit may be earned for each semester hour of credit completed from a regionally accredited institution, 
which may not lead to a degree but which leads to completion of requirements for an administrative 
endorsement not currently held. 

4. One unit may be earned upon completion of each licensure renewal course or activity approved through 
guidelines established by the board of educational examiners. 

5. One unit may be earned through verification of the successful completion of an individualized professional 
development plan as verified by the supervising licensed evaluator (or school board president in the case of 
a superintendent). 

 

NOTE:  If the new evaluator endorsement is included on your administrative license, you do not need to submit an 
additional fee to renew the evaluator endorsement. 



For educators currently serving in an Iowa school district, one renewal credit per renewal cycle may be earned through verification of 
the successful completion of an individualized professional development plan as verified by the supervising licensed evaluator. 
 
 

By signing this form, I verify that the IPDP was successfully completed. I have also included a photocopy of the approved 

and completed IPDP plan. Attach a copy of the individualized professional development plan. The plan should minimally including 
specific goal(s), planned activities, alignment to building/district goals, alignment to the Iowa teaching standards, data collected, and 
how the goal impacted student learning.  
 
Date plan was developed _______________    Date plan was completed/reviewed ______________ 
 
 
Applicant’s Signature _____________________________________________________ Date of Approval ____________ 
 
Evaluator’s Signature ____________________________________________________ Date of Approval ____________ 
 
 
Printed Name of Evaluator _________________________________Folder Number_____________________ 

 


