
 
                       Form #1 
 
              
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 
               
     INSTRUCTIONS: (Please allow four weeks for processing. Incomplete applications may be returned.)    Revised 6/15 

 
    Name changes require a photocopy of official legal documentation.  ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE. 

Applicant’s Folder # 
       

   

Social Security # 
      

Date of Birth 
Month       Day       Year 
                              

    Male 
    Female 

 
Last Name  
      
 

First Name 
      

Middle Name 
      

Maiden Name 
      

Address 
      
 

City 
      

State 
   

Zip Code 
      

Evening Phone 
 
(    )      

Daytime Phone 
 
(      )       

Email Address 
 
      
 

 
 Please verify PK-12 teaching experience if you have any. Note: Do not include substitute-teaching experience. 
 
                                                     
  From (month and year)     Until (month and year)      School District                  State 
 
                                                     
 
  From (month and year)     Until (month and year)      School District                  State 
 
 
 
   I verify that I am not currently teaching       OR 
 
   I verify that I have not yet completed two full years of teaching  experience (or three years in a nonpublic  

 school setting ). 
 
 
  
 

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL 
OF AN INITIAL LICENSE 

 

(Note: You may not renew your license earlier 
than one year from its expiration date.) 

Attach check or 
money order 

 
DO NOT 
SEND 
CASH 

1.  The application packet must include a completed application, $86.00 Application and Background Check fees, verification 
of completion of the child and dependent adult abuse training, and applicable late fees. 

 
2.  Include a copy of the certificate verifying completion of the child and dependent adult abuse mandatory reporter 

training if currently teaching in an Iowa School system or if you have an Iowa address. The mandatory reporter training is 
waived if you do not have an Iowa address and you are not teaching in Iowa. 
 

3.  Send all materials and check or money order (made payable to the Board of Educational Examiners) to the Board of 
Educational Examiners, Licensure, Grimes State Office Building, 400 E. 14th St., Des Moines, IA 50319-0147. 

 
4.  LATE RENEWAL FEE. An additional fee of $25.00 per calendar month, not to exceed $150.00, shall be imposed if a 

renewal application is submitted after the expiration date. The board will waive the late fee for the following: (a) not 
currently practicing as an educator in Iowa, (b) obtaining a Substitute License. 

5.  The Initial License may be renewed only twice, for a total of three terms.  The second renewal application must be 
accompanied by a letter from a school district administrator indicating contracted employment. 

 
6.  All fees are NONREFUNDABLE. Incomplete applications will be voided after 45 days. 

Board of Educational Examiners 
Use Only 

 



 
 
 
 
 
              Form #2 
 
  Background Information: 

 
  Attach a written explanation on 8 1/2" x 11" paper for any "Yes" response to questions “a” to “e.”  Be sure to include the date of 
the violation.  DO NOT explain on this application form.  If you have reported a "Yes" response on a previous application, check 
“PR” (previously reported) instead of "Yes" on this application if no further conviction(s) has occurred. 

   
  a. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever been convicted of a felony? 
  b. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever been convicted of a crime other than parking or speeding violations? 
                                                    (NOTE:  Include all deferred judgments.) 

c. Yes   No   Do you currently have any criminal charges pending against you? 
d. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever had a founded report of abuse made against you? 

  e. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever had an educational license denied, revoked, or suspended? 
  f.  Yes   No             Are you a United States citizen?  If you answered “No,” check if you are: 
    a qualified alien (as defined in 8 U.S.C.A. § 1641).  If so, please provide appropriate  
   documentation.   
       an alien who is paroled into the United States under 8 U.S.C.A. § 1182(d)(5) for less   

   than one year.  If so, please provide appropriate documentation. 
       a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 
                               other – Please provide a detailed explanation on a separate 8 ½ x 11 sheet of paper 
 
  Statement of Permission and Fraud:   
 
I hereby give permission for the Board of Educational Examiners to conduct both an Iowa criminal history record check with the 
Division of Criminal Investigation and a national check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  Any information maintained 
by the DCI or FBI may be released as allowed by law. 
 
   
  An application will be considered fraudulent, and may be denied, if it contains any false representation or omission of material 
fact, or if false records are submitted in support of the application. 

 
  I certify under penalty of perjury and pursuant to the laws of the state of Iowa that the preceding information is true and correct. 
 
 
 
  ______________________________________________ _____________________________________________ 
  Signature of Applicant      Date 

 
 
                       

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 


