
 

 

    
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
All fees are NONREFUNDABLE. Incomplete applications will be voided after 45 days.      
Please allow four weeks for processing. 

 
Applicant’s Folder # 
       
 

Social Security # 
      

Date of Birth 
Month       Day       Year 
                              

    Male 
    Female 

 
Last Name  
      
 
Name changes require a photocopy of official 
legal documentation.   

First Name 
      

Middle Name 
      

Maiden Name 
      

Address 
      
 

City 
      

State 
   

Zip Code 
      

Evening Phone 
 
(    )      

Daytime Phone 
 
(      )       

Email Address 
 
      
 

 
 
 
 
STATEMENT OF FRAUD; Fraud in procurement of a license or falsifying records for licensure purposes will constitute grounds for filing a 
complaint with the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners. 
 a. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever been convicted of a felony? 
 b. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever been convicted of a crime other than parking or speeding violations? 
 c. Yes   No             Do you currently have any criminal charges pending against you? 
 d. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever had a founded report of abuse made against you? 
 e. Yes   No  PR   Have you ever had an educational license denied, revoked, or suspended? 
 
For any "Yes" response attach a written explanation on 8 1/2 x 11" paper. Be sure to include the date of the violation. DO NOT explain on this 
application form. *If you have reported a "Yes" response on a previous application, check PR (previously reported) instead of "Yes" on this 
application if no further conviction(s) has occurred. 
 
I certify under penalty of perjury and pursuant to the laws of the state of Iowa that the preceding information is true and correct. 
 
 
 
______________________________________________  _____________________________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant      Date 

 

Mail to: 
Board of Educational Examiners - Licensure 

Grimes State Office Building 
400 E. 14th St. 

Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147 
 

Application for Licensure 
(Conversion from Exchange to 
Full Licensure - Teachers Only) 

I have included: 
 
_____ $86 licensure and background fees (payable to the Board of Educational Examiners – check or money order only)   
 
_____ official transcripts showing all coursework required to remove the deficiencies from your Iowa license.   
            Transcripts should be issued to you and submitted with this application. 
 
_____ verification of teaching experience acquired during the term of the Exchange License (see attached form). 

For Office Use Only: 
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Exchange License Experience Verification 
 

I submitted out-of-state experience in my original application.   yes     no 
 

If yes, number of years_________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

NOTE: Photocopies or copies by fax of any application form or experience verification form will not be accepted. Original 
signatures are needed.  
 
NOTE TO ADMINISTRATOR: If in your judgment you are convinced that the applicant above should not be given licensure, 
at least until further investigation is made, do not sign this form and please write a CONFIDENTIAL LETTER to the above 
address stating your reasons. 

 
Please convert this license to:   
 

      Initial Teaching License:  the teacher has less than two years of experience in an Iowa public school or less 
than three years in a combination of out-of-state, public, and private schools.   

 
      Standard Teaching License (Iowa public school experience):  the teacher has completed a mentoring and 

induction program, has at least two full years of public school teaching experience in Iowa (or at least three 
years total experience including out-of-state experience), meets or exceeds all Iowa Teaching Standards, 
and is recommended for a Standard License.   

 
      Standard License (Iowa non-public school experience):  the teacher has completed three years in any 

combination of out-of-state or private school instruction. 
 

      Master Educator:  the teacher has completed five years of experience (or more, including out-of-state 
experience) and has a Master’s degree in a recognized endorsement area or in curriculum/instruction. 

 
       Non-Traditional Exchange license conversion:  the teacher holds a non-traditional exchange license, and in 

addition to meeting one of the conversion requirements checked above, has met the Iowa Teaching 
Standards.    

 
Iowa Teaching Experience 

 
From (month) _______________ 20_____ Until (month) __________ 20_____ 

 
(If teaching experience is completed in more than one school district, each additional school district must verify 
experience in that district.  The district’s administrator should use official school letterhead to document the dates of  
contracted teaching experience in that district.) 

 
________________________________________ #_______________  ____________________ 
Evaluator’s Signature                                                  Folder Number  Date                
 
 
 
 

     Teacher fails to meet the Iowa Teaching Standards.  (Superintendent’s signature required ONLY if this teacher 
is not recommended for licensure).  It is the responsibility of the superintendent to report to the Board of Educational 
Examiners the teacher’s failure to meet the Iowa Teaching Standards. 
 
________________________________________ #_______________     ____________________ 
Superintendent’s Signature                                         Folder Number         District 


