Business Tax Return Deadline Extended for Flood Disaster Areas

For immediate release
September 7, 2011

Iowa Business Tax Return Deadline Extended for Flood Disaster Areas

September 7, 2011, Des Moines, Iowa.    Taxpayers affected by summer flooding in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie and Woodbury counties have been granted an extension by the Iowa Department of Revenue (IDR) to file the quarterly Iowa sales/use tax and withholding returns for the period ending June 30, 2011. Those returns can be filed by October 31, 2011 without penalty or interest, for taxpayers located in one of the six disaster areas.

When filing a return on extension for the period ending June 30, 2011, taxpayers should:

Courtney Kay-Decker, Director of the Iowa Department of Revenue, is authorized by law to extend the period of time for filing tax returns and to suspend any penalty or interest associated with those returns for taxpayers whose principal residence or business is located in a disaster area declared by the governor. Governor Branstad has declared the following six counties bordering the Missouri River to be disaster areas: Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, and Woodbury.

Other Flood News:

People who have temporarily relocated to Iowa due to the flooding along the Missouri River would not be considered an Iowa resident for Iowa income tax purposes.   Nonresidents who earn $1,000 or more working in Iowa, are required to file an Iowa income tax return.  Employers with employees working in Iowa should withhold Iowa income tax on wages for work that is performed in Iowa.

For more information, please contact the Iowa Department of Revenue at or call 515-281-3114 or 1-800-367-3388 (Iowa, Omaha, Rock Island, Moline), 8 a.m. - 4:15 p.m. CT.